• Glossary
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Accreditation — the granting of official authorization for a journalist to be in a particular place or event (press conference, conferences, etc.).
Advertising equivalency (Advertising value equivalency—AVE) — a method to measure what your editorial coverage would cost if it were advertising space (or time).
Advertorial — a piece of text in a newspaper or magazine which is advertising a product or service (advertizing + audience, information + commerce).
ALT tags — Also known as alternative tags, these are the tags that appear within the HTML <img> tags that present the alternate data to the search engines to provide a description of what the image is. For optimal search engine rankings you should have at least one image ALT tag that correlates with your site or page's primary keyword.
Ambassador — a recognizable personality in a certain environment that represents and promotes the brand, increasing the loyalty of the audience.
AMEC — the largest professional organization in the field of communication research, media intelligence and insights, which has developed its own Integrated Evaluation Framework. This methodology helps PR professionals to effectively plan their activities and objectively assess their outcomes. It also enables the practical application and implementation of the Barcelona Principles, while demonstrating the value of PR.
Annual report — a comprehensive report on a company’s activities throughout the preceding year. Annual reports are intended to give shareholders and other interested people information about the company’s activities and financial performance, corporate culture and social responsibility, openness and transparency, etc.
Archetype — a generalized image shaped by the characteristics of the target audience and the concept of a brand or person. Archetypes help reveal a brand's positioning by showcasing its internal strategy, motivations, as well as its strengths and weaknesses. Archetypes are not permanent and can evolve over time as the brand or its audience develops.
Astroturfing — means creating an artificial public opinion through public or informal events, forms and methods of influence by interested foreign intelligence services, individual organizations, groups and individuals who use software or hire media representatives, bloggers, Internet commentators, specialists to substitute the opinion of real people with the impression that a large number of people demand something specific or is against something. For example, promotion of goods, ideas, or certain decisions by public authorities and local governments in political, social, economic, and other areas.
Audience — the group of people who receive or are exposed to a media product, or at whom a piece of advertising is aimed.
Audience profile — classification of audience by particular characteristics, i.e. the age range, sex, lifestyles, etc.
Audience segmentation — categorizing the audience into separate groups (segments) according to certain common characteristics, needs, or patterns of behavior that are key in determining communication messages and main communication channels
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Backgrounder — factual information on a particular topic, e.g. company profile, products and services, history and development, which can be used for writing stories, preparing speeches, or briefing employees.
Backlinking — likely to be your biggest undertaking when it comes to SEO, backlinking is the effort involved with creating hyperlinks that link back to your website.
Banner advertising — a banner ad is an advertisement that is embedded into a website. The ad itself links to the advertiser`s website – or landing page. The intent is for visitors to click on the ad and go to the advertiser`s page. Banner ads often use animation to help draw attention to the ad.
Behavior Change Communications — an approach to the development and implementation of communication strategies aimed at a specific audience or the general population in order to promote positive behavior patterns and change certain behavioral patterns.
Black-Hat SEO — Black-Hat SEO is a term used to describe a SEO tactics that are not compliant with Google`s Webmaster Guidelines. Black-Hat SEO techniques are frowned upon by the search engine industry. Examples of Black-Hat SEO techniques are trying to hide keywords within HTML comment tags or trying to cloak pages.
Booklet — an information piece giving further details about company: its profile, market positions, list of goods and services, as well as company management and team.
Brainstorming — a method of generating new ideas and solutions, where participants offer the maximum number of options, from which the best and most realistic for practical implementation are then selected.
Brand Advocate — a loyal consumer who systematically chooses products or services of a particular brand, protects the interests of the company publicly, offers its products or services to friends, and also promotes the popularization of the brand through its own communication channels.
Brand Book — a document that outlines the key elements of the corporate style and corporate identity of an organization, covering various aspects of its activities.
Branding — the practice of attaching distinctive associations and meanings to a product, which identify it and assure consumers of its quality and the reputation of the company producing it.
Breadcrumb — a navigational aid used on websites, breadcrumbs not only allow users to quickly jump through informational sections on the site, they also provide high SEO value by allowing the search engine spiders access to quickly navigate and spider through a site, indexing data faster and more efficiently.
Brief — a structured document that contains a detailed description of the key tasks of the project, including all the requirements and input data.
Briefing — an oral presentation where the speaker presents a concise array of facts without inclusion of extensive supporting material, used in extreme, force-majeure situations.
Brochure — a high quality promotional piece (booklet or pamphlet) that contains advertising and descriptive details of products or services, as well as contact details
BTL (below the line) — relating to advertising that is not mainstream, i.e. direct mail, exhibitions, point of sale materials, print and sales literature, etc. (e.g. mailouts, beer mats, aerial advertising, carrier bags)
Business Communications — a comprehensive set of activities including corporate and product PR, employer branding, CSR initiatives, crisis communication, public affairs, internal communications, and other related efforts aimed at promoting the company and its brands.
By-liner — a material written with a byline and other credit, usually by famous people.
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Campaign — a series of planned and coordinated actions designed to achieve a specific goal within a defined timeframe.
Cancel Culture — a social phenomenon where a group publicly condemns a person, company, or brand for actions or statements that contradict commonly accepted moral norms or values. The aim is to hold them accountable for their words and behavior.
Cause marketing (or Cause-related marketing) — a type of marketing involving the cooperative efforts of a for profit business and a non-profit organization for mutual benefit. The term is sometimes used more broadly and generally to refer to any type of marketing effort for social and other charitable causes, including in-house marketing efforts by non-profit organizations. Cause marketing differs from corporate giving (philanthropy) as the latter generally involves a specific donation that is tax deductible, while cause marketing is a marketing relationship generally not based on a donation.
Charity promotion — a company provides tangible assets, intangible assets or other corporate resources, thus drawing attention of the public to a particular problem, assisting in fund-raising, involving volunteers.
Chatbot — software that simulates human conversation through pre-programmed or AI-driven responses, functioning as an automated assistant.
Checklist — a structured list of tasks or items used by an organization to ensure all necessary steps are completed or considered in a specific process.
Clickbait — a tactic used to attract audience attention and drive traffic through sensationalized or provocative content, including headlines, images, and videos, often prioritizing engagement over accuracy or substance.
Collaboration — a form of strategic partnership in which two or more organizations join forces to achieve mutually beneficial business goals.
Communication Strategy — a component of a brand's or company's overall strategy focused on establishing effective information exchange with target audiences, and achieving the organization’s strategic goals.
Community — a group of people united by common goals, values, interests.
Conference — a large special meeting of people that confer about a certain topic, organized to discuss matters or find solution
Content analysis — a technique used to study written materials by breaking it into meaningful units, using carefully applied rules. It involves analysis of language, certain words, or certain activities that appear in the chosen media. The objective, systematic and quantitative description of the manifest content of a communication.
Contextual advertising — a form of targeted advertising for advertisements appearing on websites or other media, selected and served by automated systems; an effective solution for product or service promotion.
Consulting — a professional service that provides independent expertise, strategic advice, and practical support to clients (organizations, businesses, institutions, or individuals).
Content — any form of information, including text, images, audio, and video, created and disseminated through various media channels to inform, engage, entertain, or persuade audiences.
Continuity — the act of maintaining a continuous stable level of advertising activity or the scheduling of media exposures of a particular advertisement or campaign within a given period.
Copywriting — the professional practice of crafting compelling advertising and promotional texts designed to capture attention, persuade audiences, and effectively market products or services.
Corporate culture — the shared values, beliefs, and behaviors within an organization that promote teamwork, guide interactions and decision-making, and create a positive work environment. It boosts employee motivation and helps the organization achieve its goals.
Corporate identity — a visual image of a company that includes a logo, colors, and style that make the brand recognizable and easy for customers to remember.
Corporate bulletin, Newspaper, Journal — a material that contains useful information and expresses a company position on a particular issue.
Corporate philanthropy — a company supports with donations charity organizations or campaigns directly, mostly in form grants, presents and/or goods and services.
Corporate social marketing — the systematic application of marketing efforts by a company to achieve specific behavioral goals for a social good, can be applied to improve public health, or security, contribute to environmental protection or promote society’s wellbeing as a whole.
Corporate social responsibility — a strategic approach where companies voluntarily commit to making a positive impact on society by addressing their effects on consumers, employees, communities, and the environment.
Coverage — normally used to describe the prime geographical area reached by a medium. Can also be used to show a degree to which a medium or an advertising schedule will reach a particular type of audience.
CPC — Cost-per-click, or CPC, is a term used in online paid advertising to indicate click through percentages. The cost per click is calculated by diving the number of clicks with the total amount spent on the advertisement. For example, if you spent $100 on an ad and 200 clicks was received; the CPC would be $0.50 cents.
Crisis PR — a branch of public relations aimed at managing the reputation of an organization during crisis situations. Crisis PR requires quick, balanced actions and effective communication to protect the reputation of the organization in difficult conditions.
CSS — Cascading Style Sheets, also known as CSS, is a style sheet presentation markup language that is used to position elements, layouts, colors, fonts, images, and construct a Web page on the whole. While CSS is used primarily in styling HTML Web pages, it is also used to style XML and other documents.
Cut-in — a commercial or promotional video to replace the original advertisement of when broadcasting in a particular region or market.
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Data leak — is an illegal transfer of confidential information (materials important for different companies or states, personal data). It can be intentional or accidental. The loss of valuable information may occur through improper use of security policy rules and regulations. Failure to comply with data storage and protection rules can result in data leak and distribution in public places, such as the Internet.
Degustation (or Tasting) — most popular type of promotion campaigns; recommended for market launch of new brands or expansion of product mix within one brand.
Desk research — obtaining facts and information from sources which are readily accessible (content analysis of mass media, work with statistical data, completed researches, etc.)
Digest — is a selection of news pieces, collected in a specific time period and classified according to categories, subjects and other characteristics. Such form is effective for retainer monitoring (daily, weekly and monthly) which helps to follow the immense information flow and not get lost.
Digital PR — a branch of public relations focused on online communication and enhancing a brand's presence on the Internet. It primarily targets social media, blogs, websites, online publications, and other platforms that facilitate audience interaction with the brand and its products.
Dofollow Links — Dofollow links are an attribute associated with an HTML hyperlink that tell a search engine to continue to link through to the site, disseminating some of the site`s important link juice. These are very powerful types of links that work well when pointed to your site or to a link pyramid that leads to your site. When a search engine sees a Dofollow link they continue linking through to the site, passing part of the SEO link juice that would have been offered to that page had the link been a Nofollow link.
Duplicate Content — in the search engine world, content is king, but duplicate content is the court jester. Copying large chunks of content to your site is one of the biggest no-no`s in the industry. The search engines will figure it out sooner or later and you will be demoted in the rankings. If you`re going to do SEO right, make sure all the content is high-quality and unique content that`s well researched.
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Embargo — an agreed temporary ban on the publication of certain information, according to which journalists voluntarily refrain from publishing the news until a certain date.
Engagement rate — an indicator of the interest of the audience on the page, which reflects the level of activity and interaction with the page or content. It is measured as a percentage and is calculated as part of all reactions (likes, comments, reposts, etc.) to the total number of subscribers for a certain period of time.
Employer Brand — the perception of a company as a workplace, shaped by its values, culture, and employee experiences. It conveys the unique value proposition offered to current and prospective employees, influencing their interest and engagement. A strong employer brand serves as a competitive advantage, aiding in talent attraction and retention while fostering long-term success in the industry.
ESG Principles (E-Environment, S-Social, G-Governance) — a framework used to assess a company's commitment to sustainable practices. These principles evaluate environmental impact, social responsibility, and governance standards, serving as criteria for investment decisions and the creation of integrated reports.
Ethical Principles — a set of moral norms and rules of conduct followed by public relations professionals. These principles help maintain trust between organizations and their audiences.
Event (Special event) — a planned promotional happening or a news hook that has a central focus and captures the attention and involvement of the target audience, used for attainment of PR objectives, requires financial outlays and organizational preparation.
Expert poll — a special type of polling used when it is necessary to ascertain opinion of a particular group of specialist on a particular issue.
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Fact checking — the process of verifying the reliability and accuracy of information by examining original sources and assessing the completeness of the data.
Fact sheet (Information for the press) — a type of backgrounder, a sheet of paper giving information about a product or service which can be used for publicity purposes.
Fake — deliberately invented or false information that is presented as reliable.
Feedback — information or comments given in response to an action or performance, intended to help improve understanding and guide future decisions.
Field research — the process of looking for information that is not yet published and must be obtained in surveys that are made out specifically for a purpose (questionnaires, personal interviews, focus groups, etc.)
Fishing — is a fraud. The purpose is to obtain personal data of clients of online auctions, currency transfer or exchange services, and online stores from deceivable or inattentive users. Scammers use all sorts of tricks that most often force users to disclose confidential data on their own. For example, they send emails with offers to confirm account registration, containing links to a website on the Internet, the appearance of which fully copies the design of reputable resources.
Flash mob — an event participated by a large group of people who assemble suddenly in a public place, perform an unusual and pointless act for a brief time, then disperse. The term is generally applied only to gatherings organized via telecommunications, social media, or viral emails.
Flesch formula — a test used to assess the difficulty level of writing based on the number of syllables and sentences per 100 words.
Focus groups — a qualitative research technique in which a group of about 7–10 people is invited to a neutral venue to discuss a market-research question, is also known as a group discussion.
Fog index (or Gunning Fog index) — a readability test designed to show how easy or difficult a text is to read. The Gunning Fog index gives the number of years of education that your reader hypothetically needs to understand the paragraph or text. The Gunning Fog index formula implies that short sentences written in plain English achieve a better score than long sentences written in complicated language.
Fundraising — the process of attracting financial and other resources for the implementation of projects, achieving strategic goals or supporting the activities of a company or organization.
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General population — a set of entities concerning which statistical interferences are to be drawn, often based on a random sample taken from the population.
Goal tree — a structured framework that breaks down a primary goal into smaller, interconnected objectives, tasks, and actions. It helps clarify the relationships between each component, and outlines the logical steps needed to achieve the organization's overall mission.
Government Communication — the exchange of information between government entities and the public, aimed at promoting transparency in government activities, enhancing accountability, and building public trust in authorities.
Guaranteed circulation — the audited circulation of a magazine that is used as a basis for calculating advertising rates.
Guide — instruction, a manual that helps a person to understand the subject.
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Hate — hidden or open hatred or hostility to something or someone. It is often prevalent on social media, where anonymity allows individuals to voice their negative feelings more freely.
Headliner — the main participant or key figure of a particular event or project.
Headings — HTML headings are blocks of code that are placed around certain words, styling and providing a certain level of prominence in the overall page structure. Heading tags range from h1 through h6, however, in the modern SEO world the first three hold the most importance. Tags h1 through h3 should all contain the primary keyword space throughout the page with the h1 and h2 tags being above the website fold.
Hit — a visit to a particular page on a website by a webvisitor. A hit refers to a number of people who visit a particular Internet page.
Hype — artificial publicity around something.
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Influencer — a public person or group of people who has at least one communication channel and, due to its authority, expertise, and activity in social networks, streaming services, digital platforms, has a significant impact on its audience.
Infographics — a graphical way of transmitting and visualizing information to facilitate its perception and understanding.
Information warfare — a set of measures involving the use of information and communication tactics to influence the population of another country. This can include the dissemination of carefully crafted messages and propaganda, and it occurs in both peacetime and during armed conflicts.
Indoctrination booklet — a guideline for new employees and visitors, explaining “rules of game” to newcomers.
Insight — a deep understanding or unexpected awareness of the essence of a problem, situation, or phenomenon.
Institutional booklet — provides information about socially useful activity and charitable initiatives of a company, story of its success, development, expansion, outlines corporate philosophy.
Integrated communications — an integrated approach to the marketing and communication strategies of an organization, which involves the consistent use of various communication channels and tools to achieve maximum effect.
Integrated commercial — a commercial of more than one product or service.
Internal Link — internal links are links from your page`s content to another page or section on the same domain. Internal links are important when it comes to On-Site SEO.
Internal Public Relations — processes of information exchange and communication between employees within a company or organization. They are aimed at improving work efficiency, strengthening the team spirit, transferring corporate values and creating a single corporate culture.
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Keyword — a word or phrase that is used to optimize a website or webpage. Selecting keywords is one of the most important tasks in SEO work, and selecting the right keywords in the outset can either make or break you. It's important to note that the keyword Miami vacation and vacation Miami will produce different search results, so the order and positioning of the words within the phrase is just as important.
Key Performance Indicators (KPI) — indicators that help assess the effectiveness of activities, processes or individual employees in relation to established goals and objectives. These indicators allow you to objectively track progress, identify problem areas and make informed management decisions to achieve the company's strategic and operational goals.
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Landing Page — a separate website that is designed to achieve a specific marketing or advertising goal. For example, selling goods or services, collecting contacts, promoting services or events.
Leaflet — a sheet of paper with printed information that is given out as part of an advertising or information campaign; distributed in crowded places, pasted up, or sent by mail.
Link Bait — Link Bait refers to content that is created in order to garner as many links to it as possible. Since backlinks are one of the primary drivers of SERP positioning, many SEO efforts include the creation of content with the primary goal to get many links back to that content as possible.
Link Juice — this is the SEO linking power of a page and usually refers to the combined sum of the link power of all the pages linking into it. You`ll hear the term link juice referenced when quantifying the power of a certain link or a page that those links lead to.
Lobbying — the practice of promoting the interests of various groups, from financial and industrial groups to non-governmental organizations or ethnic communities, in order to influence the adoption of specific decisions by the authorities.
Long Read — a substantial text that requires more time to read than typical articles, often featuring in-depth analysis, narrative elements, and multimedia content to engage readers and enhance understanding.
Long Tail Keyword — a specific keyword phrase consisting of three or more words that target a niche topic, question, or audience. While long tail keywords may produce results similar to broader search terms, they often face less competition and can lead to higher conversion rates. Utilizing long tail keywords can help improve a website's ranking in search engine results for terms that may otherwise be challenging to compete for.
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Mainstream — 1) most popular and/or common current of something, e.g. art, politics, etc.; 2) a conditional concept for description of moderate-progressive trends, which combine elements of traditional and modern stylistics.
Media Analysis — a close, and at the same time, complex scrutiny of media pick-ups, including qualitative and quantitative methods of content analysis, plus expert analysis based on conclusions and commentaries from senior analysts. Media analysis helps to complete and systematize the information attained by media monitoring.
Media Kit — an information package containing materials about a company, brand, product, or service (statistics, achievements, list of products and services, contacts, visual materials, etc.). Provides comprehensive information to journalists and other stakeholders.
Media Monitoring — search and selection of materials in mass media (print, online, newswires, TV and radio) according to specific key markers (it can be a word, a phrase, a theme or sphere of activity) and time frames defined by you.
Media Relations — one of the directions in PR aimed at building and maintaining long-term relationships with the media, journalists, influencers, opinion leaders in order to form a positive image, increase awareness and achieve business goals.
Meta Description — a meta tag used by search engines to provide a brief summary of a webpage’s content. Along with the title tag, it appears in search engine results pages (SERPs) to inform users about the link's content and encourage them to click.
Message — a piece of information crafted and communicated by a sender with the intention of achieving a specific goal, tailored to resonate with a particular target audience.
Microlearning — a method of presenting information in small parts. Each module focuses on a specific topic or skill, which helps to quickly obtain and apply new knowledge.
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Native advertising — a form of advertising that aligns the content and style of the message with the format and function of the platform on which it appears. This type of advertising is designed to be organic and unobtrusive, blending seamlessly with the surrounding content to enhance user engagement.
Networking — the development of a network of professional relations in order to exchange information, experience, as well as for mutually beneficial cooperation.
News break — an extraordinary event that attracts attention and arouses interest among the audience and becomes the subject of public discussion.
Newsletter — a report that contains matters of interest to a specific target group (company employees, mass media, clients, partners, etc.), and is regularly sent to them. There is no fixed format – there are no obligatory requirements to its structure and content.
Newsmaker — a person, organization, or company that has enough information to be a source of news and arouses media interest.
Nofollow Links — an HTML attribute added to hyperlinks that signals search engines not to pass on “link juice” or influence the ranking of the linked page. Nofollow links are useful for maintaining the SEO optimization of your own page by preventing the transfer of SEO value to external sites.
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Objectives and Key Results (OKR) — methodology for setting and achieving goals. It involves determining the global objective (objective) and measurable metrics (key results) to assess progress in achieving it.
Off-Site SEO — the techniques and strategies used to improve a website’s search engine rankings that occur outside the website itself. Off-Site SEO primarily involves building backlinks, gaining social media shares, creating content on external platforms (e.g., YouTube, Medium), and other activities that increase a site's authority and visibility.
On-Site SEO — any work that is done on the website to increase the effectiveness of its SEO is considered On-Site SEO. This includes any HTML work, content creation, internal linking, setup, keyword distribution, and other related efforts.
Opinion poll — an essential means by which the views of general public are ascertained, e.g. habits, inclinations, motives of behavior, opinions, etc.
Outdoor advertising — graphic, text or any other type of informative advertising in the open air, including advertising on the outside of a building, in public transport, on roadsides, at bus stops, or skywriting, using posters on hoardings or neon signs, etc.
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Page Title — the HTML page title is the descriptive site title detail that resides withing the page`s title tags. This information is displayed by the search engines and is used in ranking the site on the SERPs. A good page title tag should be descriptive but not superfluous and should accomplish its goal in around 70 characters (the cut off point for most SERPs) with the use of the primary keyword.
Panel — a group of people or entities that allow their attitude, views of a certain situation or activity to be monitored for research purposes.
PESO-model — a framework for creating a comprehensive communication strategy that combines four types of media: paid, earned, shared, and owned.
PEST-analysis — a research and planning tool used to identify and assess the impact on a company, organization or brand of four environmental factors: political, economic, social and technological.
Phygital — an approach that combines the physical and virtual worlds to create a unique consumer experience. It can be used for events, integrating Internet technologies and real elements.
Pitching — a brief presentation of an idea, project or product, emphasizing their importance in order to interest potential partners, investors, customers, or journalists and attract their attention.
Point of Contact — the moment of interaction between the company, organization, or brand with the client. Such a point can be advertising, packaging, communication with employees, business card, banner, social networks, etc.
Position — the location of a print ad on a page within a print vehicle.
Positioning — the process of forming a unique image of a company, organization, or person in the mind of the target audience, which emphasizes advantages and values, and also distinguishes among competitors.
PPC — pay-per-click advertising, or PPC, is a form of paid search engine advertising that marketers use to get their message out to the masses on a large scale very quickly. PPC ads show up on the right side of SERPs and are now also being implemented on Facebook, YouTube videos, and more recently on sites like Twitter.
PPV — pay per view ads, or PPV, is a type of advertising that is utilized by marketers to distribute ads to a user base that has expressly agreed to receive those ads. An example of this free software downloads or online services such as Pandora that use PPV ads to display advertisements on a periodic basis while providing a free service.
PR agency — an independent organization that advises on a company’s public relations, develops and implements programs to manage a company’s publicity, image and affairs with consumers and other relevant publics.
PR audit — a broad-scale, loosely structured research study exploring a company’s public relations and communication both internally and externally. Findings of such research help to indicate the problem areas of the company’s communication policy and correct them in order to increase the effect of its activity.
Presentation, Opening ceremony — presentation of a company, products, or services for prospective and existing partners.
Press clipping — a selection of all relevant text information, collected for a specified time period. Such form of reports is effective for tracking media’s reaction to a specific theme, event or press release.
Press conference — a meeting to which media are invited by a government body, organization or company seeking to make public announcement, usually to gain favorable publicity or to offset some negative reaction.
Press kit — a package of background and promotional material relating to a product, distributed to the media by a press agent or publicity department. It typically includes a press release, backgrounder, fact sheet, annual report, biographies of key participants, photos or other images, program of event, collateral advertising material, etc.
Press release — a special announcement usually in the form of a written piece, giving facts to be reported in the media.
Press tour, Open day — acquaintance of journalists with a company business processes, operating activity, or a process of service rendering.
Promotion — a purposeful activity aimed at attracting the attention of the audience, forming a positive image, increasing brand awareness and the level of trust in it.
Product placement — a form of advertising and promotion in which products are placed as props on TV shows or/and movies to gain exposure.
PR services — organization of public relations and shaping of public opinion (awareness) (a press conference, presentation, roundtable, etc.)
PR Strategy Card — a tool that is formed as a result of strategy development, contains its logical and concise presentation. Functions of PR Strategy Card: eliminates inconsistencies of short-term, long-term goals and mission of the company, turns the strategy into an action plan.
Public — an active social entity that unites people at a certain point in time who are faced with a common problem and are collectively looking for ways to solve it.
Public Image — a purposefully formed image or impression of a person, company or brand, which enters the consciousness of the audience and creates a key role in the formation of brand capital and its perception by target groups.
Publicity — information from an independent source that is disseminated by the media because it has the value of news. The source of the message does not pay anything for its placement in the media. Function: to attract attention and create interest in someone or something.
Public opinion — the opinion of a significant part of society about any actual problem that is controversial. It can be expressed either explicitly or covertly, verbally or non-verbally, and is formed in a specific social or socio-political context.
Public service announcement (PSA) — a type of advertisement for not-for profit organizations that run on time and space donated by the media. Advertising with a message in the interest of the public, usually run free of charge.
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RACI (responsibility matrix) — a tool that provides a description of the distribution of tasks and responsibility for performing work in a project.
Reach — a metric that measures the number of unique users who have seen certain content or messages.
Readership or Audience — number of people who read a particular publication as opposed to the number of people included in its circulation.
Rebranding — a complex change in a brand or product in order to update or change its perception by the target audience. May include changing the name, visual elements of the brand, value proposition, positioning and other components.
Reception, Cocktail party — meeting of a company with its clients and partners on a formal or solemn occasion.
Reels — a format of short videos in social networks (Instagram and Facebook) lasting up to 90 seconds, usually entertaining or informational format.
Reference guide — a document containing information about social package, corporate standards, etc., emphasis on support materials; it is intended for inner use.
Referrer String — a piece of data appended to a URL that indicates the source of traffic to a webpage. It is commonly used in affiliate marketing and web analytics to track the origin of leads, clicks, or referrals from specific campaigns or websites. This information helps marketers assess the success of their advertising efforts across different platforms.
Report — a structured document that contains systematic and analyzed information collected according to certain parameters for the purpose of its effective transfer and further use.
Reputation — the collective perception of a company, organization, or individual, shaped over time through their communication, actions, and interactions with stakeholders. Unlike image, which is more subjective and focused on presentation, reputation is built on consistent behavior and performance, leading to a long-term impact on trust and credibility.
Reputation Management — a set of measures aimed at forming and maintaining a positive reputation of a company, organization, or person in the perception of target audiences in the relevant market.
Research study — a material based on information obtained by the use of interviews, public opinion polls, reviews or analyses, which are published to draw attention of audience and to demonstrate value of product or service.
Rollout — the process by which a company introduces a new product to different geographical markets or consumer segments.
Rotation — a number of different advertisements, repeated in rotating order during a campaign.
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Sampling — a promotional activity in which target audience or consumers are allowed to experience a good or a service free of charge or at a greatly reduced cost.
Search Algorithm — a complex formula developed by search engines to evaluate and rank web pages for search results. It considers numerous factors, including domain age, link popularity, on-site and off-site SEO elements. While the specific workings and weighting of these factors remain proprietary to the search engine (e.g., Google), industry experts have identified general guidelines that can help optimize content for better visibility in search results.
Search engine optimization (SEO) — the process of enhancing the visibility, quality, and quantity of traffic to a website or web page through unpaid search results in search engines. Generally, the higher a site's ranking in search results, the more visitors it attracts, leading to increased potential clients and enhanced online presence. Effective SEO involves optimizing various elements, including content, keywords, and technical aspects, to align with search engine algorithms.
Search Engine Reputation Management (SERM) — complex of actions aimed at excluding negative feedback about a company, products or services from search system results. In other words, clearance of search results.
Search Engine Marketing (SEM) — the business of search engine marketing, the industry that search engine optimization specialists fall under. SEM is used to refer to not only SEO efforts but also paid search engine marketing efforts as well.
Seminar, Roundtable — an event involving a small group of people, from specialized media mostly, to discuss and debate on an issue or to acquaint with products, technological processes in a company.
SERP (Search Engine Results Page) — the page that search engines display in response to a user's query, presenting a list of relevant results. SERPs typically include a mix of organic listings, paid advertisements, local results, featured snippets, and other rich media formats. The layout and content of SERPs can vary based on the search engine and the specific query, providing users with various options to find the information they seek.
Share (or Share of audience) — the total percentage of potential audience in a radio station’s total service area listening during a particular period of time.
Situational Analysis — a study of the external and internal environment of a company or organization to determine its current state. The results of situational analysis are the basis for making strategic decisions and determining goals.
Situational Content — a quick reaction, content created by a brand in response to an actual news or event.
SMART goals — a methodology for formulating goals, which implies their compliance with five criteria: smart, measurable, achievable, relevant and time-bound.
Social Media Marketing (SMM) — a set of works using social media as channels for promoting a company or brand and solving other business problems.
Social Media — social media is a term that refers to the types of sites that have increased in popularity in the past several years that base themselves on end user interactions in social and collaborative format. Examples of such popular sites are Facebook, Google Plus, and Twitter.
Spam — is a mass mailing of advertising or other types of letters to people who have not expressed a desire to receive it. First of all, the term "spam" refers to promotional emails.
Special event — a planned promotional happening or a news hook that has a central focus and captures the attention and involvement of the target audience, used for attainment of PR objectives, requires financial outlays and organizational preparation.
Spokesperson — 1) a person giving a speech or report during an event, event; 2) a person authorized to speak on behalf of a company or organization, providing official comments and statements to the media and the public.
Sponsorship — financial, material or organizational support of certain activities in order to increase the recognition of a company, organization, or person (sponsor).
Stakeholders — persons or groups that have an interest in the company and can influence it directly, and which may be influenced by the company's activities (shareholders, sponsors, investors, suppliers, etc.).
Statement for the press — a specially prepared announcement or reply directed at members of the news media for the purpose of announcing something claimed as having news value that is made public, such as by a politician.
Statement of Work (SOW) — a project management document that describes the necessary resources and scope of work to be performed, as well as regulates the interaction between the customer and the contractor. Among the components of SOW: description and goals of the project, its schedule and individual stages, results, payment information.
Storyboard — a sequence of drawings that give the outline of a film or TV advertisement. A poster showing a series of miniature TV-screens depicting the sequence of scenes in a commercial with the words to accompany each picture written below it.
Storytelling — a method of communication that uses the power of stories to convey key messages and establish an emotional connection with the audience.
Strategy — a general direction, a long-term action plan aimed at achieving a specific goal(s) of a company or organization. Within one strategy there can be several tactics.
SWOT-analysis — a research tool that consists in determining the factors of the external and internal environment and dividing it into four categories: strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats.
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Tactics — a set of specific actions and short-term measures that need to be taken to achieve strategic goals. Within one strategy, there can be several tactics.
Target audience — the primary group of people that something, usually an advertising campaign, is aimed at appealing to. A target audience can be people of a certain age group, gender, marital status, etc.
Targeting — a mechanism that allows you to customize the display of advertising messages to specific segments of the target audience.
Tendency — a relatively steady development of a certain direction. A process that contains a set of trends and which we cannot directly influence.
Think piece or Analytic article — an article that analyses a topic currently in the media, similar to by-liner, often composed by people who know the topic from within rather than journalists.
Testimonial — review or recommendation from the consumer about the company, its product or service. Used to increase confidence and influence the decisions of potential consumers.
Thought leader — an individual recognized as an authority in a specific field or industry, who influences others through their insights, expertise, and ideas.
Trend — a temporary phenomenon that is gaining popularity or influence in a certain period of time.
Trendsetter — the one that creates a trend, earlier than others perceives and spreads innovations, influencing the tastes and preferences of a wide audience.
Trend Watching — the skill of tracking and analyzing the most current trends, topics, discussions, information drives in business, technology, culture and other areas.
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Value Proposition — a set of benefits that consumers receive from a company's products or services.
Viral content — content that rapidly gains widespread attention and shares across the internet, often through social media platforms, due to its engaging, entertaining, or provocative nature.
Visual content — information that can be transmitted through photography, illustration, drawings, graphics, video.
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User-generated content (UGC) — any type of content created by users or consumers (photos, videos, texts, reviews, audio, etc.)
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White paper — a non-promotional document that contains detailed information about a particular project or product.
Working media budget — amount of advertising appropriation allocated to media advertising, not intended for media buying, unlike other expenditures, e.g. production of advertising materials, fees to authors, packing and delivery of samples, etc.