Faces of Craftsmen: how we found rare crafts in five countries
about expertise
Faces of Craftsmen: how we found rare crafts in five countries

The Balvenie is a handmade single malt Scotch whisky brand. The Balvenie distillery is part of William Grant & Sons family company, which for 125 years has been using manual labor at every stage of production. The brand highly values the five rare crafts that are still used in the production of Scotch whisky. And that’s the message of The Balvenie to its consumers.

MAINSTREAM’s goal was to tell about exclusive production traditions of The Balvenie to the audience of the CIS (Ukraine, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Belarus, and Kazakhstan).

Having analyzed the situation, we realized that potential consumers have no idea about rare crafts and their impact on product quality.

Solution

We reached our goal with a special project Faces of Craftsmen, which showed the importance of crafts in the modern world. Various craftsmen became the main heroes of the project, from a hatter and tailor to the creator of guitars and jeweler. The project’s photographers were young talents who dreamed of a personal photo exhibition.

In Ukraine, Faces of Craftsmen project was implemented on the platform of the prestigious lifestyle media Buro 24/7 Ukraine. Every month we published a new article, which told the story of one of the craftsmen. From these articles, readers learned about the role of the craft in the production of The Balvenie and the unique qualities of the beverage. And photos taken during the process of work in the workshop reflected the depth of the craftsmen’s’ personalities and the actual role of the craft.

In Azerbaijan, we went even further and organized an expedition around the country. We traveled to such remote places, where the last generations of real craftsmen live. The journalist and photographer of the project kept an online diary of travellings through their social media and personal blogs. The idea caught the attention of the editorial staff of L’Officiel magazine, which became our main partner in Azerbaijan. The journalist of the magazine interviewed Azerbaijani craftsmen in their workshops. As a result, the audience could follow the project in real-time.

 

In Georgia and Belarus, the project was presented in Indigo magazine and told about modern masters of handicraft.

And in Kazakhstan Faces of Craftsmen project drew the attention of Esquire editors. Our stories got on the pages of a prestigious magazine in the world of art and culture.

To attract an additional audience and show the results of the heroes’ skills in the format of the exhibition, we decided to hold a series of special events called Masters of Craft. We invited masters and photographers. They showed their works, surprised everyone with their talent and revealed their love for traditions that they managed to preserve in the era of machines and technologies.

Read more
Read more
Read more
Read more
Read more
Results

The events got a hold of public attention and had extensive coverage in the media with 114 publications.

The total coverage of the project was 12,199,276 people among the target audience:

  • 10,799,100 people in Ukraine
  • 769,316 people in Azerbaijan
  • 442,160 people in Kazakhstan
  • 188,700 people in Georgia and Belarus

By telling the emotional stories of the craftspeople from different countries, The Balvenie brand has gained an image of a connoisseur of handicrafts. The Faces of Craftsmen project reflected the essence of the brand and its traditions, highlighting the value of five rare crafts used in the making of Scotch. The project helped to understand that the people who create a unique and rare drink every day are the heroes of our time.

We can create and tell a unique story of your brand.

Contact details

Faces of Сraftsmen: как мы нашли редкие ремесла в 5 странах мира
Об экспертизе
Faces of Сraftsmen: как мы нашли редкие ремесла в 5 странах мира

The Balvenie — бренд односолодового шотландского виски, который изготавливают вручную. Завод The Balvenie является частью семейной компании William Grant & Sons, где на протяжении 125 лет ручной труд используется на каждом этапе производства. Бренд ценит пять редких ремесел, которые до сих пор применяют при изготовлении скотча. И об этом The Balvenie говорит с потребителями.

Задача MAINSTREAM заключалась в том, чтобы рассказать об эксклюзивных традициях на производстве The Balvenie аудитории СНГ (Украина, Азербайджан, Грузия, Беларусь и Казахстан).

Проанализировав ситуацию, мы поняли, что потенциальные потребители не имеют представления о редких ручных ремеслах и их влиянии на качество продукта.

Путь решения

Решением задачи стал специальный проект «Faces of Craftsmen», который показал значение ремесла в современном мире. Главными героями проекта стали мастера самых разнообразных ремесел — от шляпника и портного до создателя гитар и ювелира. Фотографами проекта стали молодые таланты, которые мечтали провести фотовыставку своих работ.

В Украине проект «Faces of craftsmen» был реализован на платформе престижного лайфстайл-медиа Buro 24/7 Ukraine. Каждый месяц публиковалась новая статья, которая рассказывала историю одного из мастеров. Там же читатели узнали о роли ремесла в изготовлении The Balvenie и об особенностях напитка. А фотографии, сделанные во время процесса работы в мастерской, передали глубину персоналий мастеров и истинную роль ремесла.

В Азербайджане мы пошли еще дальше и организовали экспедицию по стране. Мы оказались в таких уголках, где в последнем поколении живут настоящие мастера. Журналист и фотограф проекта, находясь в путешествии, писали онлайн-дневник в социальных сетях и в личных блогах. Идея привлекла внимание редакции журнала L'Officiel, который и стал нашим главным партнером в Азербайджане. Журналистка издания брала интервью непосредственно в мастерских азербайджанских ремесленников. Таким образом, аудитория могла следить за проектом в режиме реального времени.

 

В Грузии и Беларуси проект был представлен в журнале Индиго и рассказывал о современных мастерах ручного дела.

А в Казахстане «Faces of craftsmen» привлек внимание редакторов Esquire. Наши истории попали на страницы престижного издания в мире журналов об искусстве и культуре.

Чтобы привлечь дополнительную аудиторию и показать результаты мастерства героев в формате выставки, мы решили провести серию специальных мероприятий «Masters of Craft». Мы пригласили мастеров и фотографов. Они представили свои работы, удивили всех талантом и показали любовь к традициям, которые сумели сохранить в эпоху машин и технологий.

Подробнее
Подробнее
Подробнее
Подробнее
Подробнее
Результат

События получили общественный резонанс и широкое освещение в СМИ — 114 публикаций в медиа.

Всего охват проекта составил 12 199 276 человек среди целевой аудитории:

  • 10 799 100 человек в  Украине
  • 769 316 человек в Азербайджане
  • 442 160 человек в Казахстане
  • 188 700 человек в Грузии и Беларуси

Рассказав эмоциональные истории мастеров в разных странах, бренд The Balvenie сформировал себе имидж ценителя ручной работы. Проект «Faces of craftsmen» стал отражением сущности бренда и его традиций, освещая ценность пяти редких ремесел, используемых в приготовлении скотча. Проект помог пониманию того, что люди, которые ежедневно создают неповторимый и редкий напиток, – герои нашего времени.

Создадим и расскажем неповторимую историю для вашего бренда.

Контакты для связи